We use cookies to track visitor statistics and personalise adverts. This info is shared with Google. Only use the site if you agree to this. OK, I agree

Glenbuchat Heritage

14 Alexander Walker Collection
The Glenbuchat Image Library
14 Alexander Walker Collection

Click for Alexander Walker Introduction

In 1866 Alexander Walker published a collection of 196 Fiddle tunes. The Titles are all listed below. A copy of his original book is held at The House of Newe by the descendants of Sir Charles Forbes. The frontispiece of the book contains a dedication to Sir Charles Forbes.

The Publication was titled “A Collection of Strathspeys, Reels, Marches &c. for piano violin and violincello” composed by Alexander Walker and dedicated with permission to Sir Charles Forbes Bart. The book was published by John Marr of Aberdeen.

From the 'Dedication to Sir Charles Forbes' which prefaced his collection, it is clear that Alexander Walker's book contained predominately original music. Of the 196 tunes in the book only five were credited to other composers (Two to Alexander Troup, with one each to J. Steele and Hugh Inner, and one as collaboration between Walker and James Scott Skinner. Although he did not directly credit himself alongside each of the remaining melodies (perhaps he felt this redundant) are apparently all composed by himself. The titles certainly relate to Alexander’s life, to his Forbes family connections and to events and places connected with him (except for the last two titles to which I have yet to find any related history).

The Titles of the tunes in the Collection, in Alphabetical order are:

Abbey Craig (The)
Abergeldie Castle
Aboyne Castle
Alexander Davidson
Alexander Ramsay
Auchindoun Castle
Balleterach Strathspey
Balmoral Castle
Balmoral Hornpipe
Banks of Avon (The)
Banks of Boggie (The)
Banks of Don (The)
Banks of Earn (The)
Belted Plaid (The)
Ben Newe
Ben-A' Chie
Birks of Delhandy (The)
Birnan Hall
Blair Athole
Bog of Rannes (The )
Bonny Lass of Rothiemay (The)
Braes of Letterfourie (The)
Braes of Mayen (The)
Braes of Morven (The)
Braes of Newe (The)
Braes of Rhynie (The)
Bridge of Alford (The)
Bridge of Banff (The)
Bridge of Bucket
Bridge of Gairn (The)
Bridge of Newe (The)
British Press (The)
Captain Charles Leith Hay
Castle Forbes
Castle Newe
Charles John Forbes
Clansmen's Quickstep (The)
Clashnettie's Hornpipe
Cluny Water
Coil-a-Creich Inn
Col. Call's
Col. Farquharson of Invercauld
Coming thro' Kilbleen
Corgarff Castle
Countess of Fife (The)
Countess of Seafield (The)
Craig Coynach
Delnadamph Lodge
Delrachnie's Rant
Deskry Shiel
Doctor Profeit
Donside Lasses (The)
Doune of Invernoughty (The)
Dr. Cameron
Dr. Marshall
Dr. Robertson
Duchess of Athole (The)
Duchess of Richmond (The)
Duke of Athole (The)
Duke of Richmond's Birthday (The)
Duncan Dawson
Dupplin Castle
Earl of Marches (The)
Earl of Seafield (The )
Easter Skene
Falls of Corrymulzie (The)
Fiddich Bridge
Fishers' Reel o' Buckie (The)
Forbes Lodge
Forest of Mar (The)
Free Gardener (The)
George Gordon
George Reid
George S. Forbes of Aslown
Glenavon Forest
Glenbucket Castle
Glenbucket Lodge
Gordon Castle Waltz
Gordon Stewart Forbes
Haughs of Delbagie (The)
Highland Society of Scotland (The)
Honourable Seymour Egerton (The)
House of Bellabeg (The)
House of Craig (The)
House of Drummuir (The)
House of Edinglassie (The)
House of Glenkindy (The)
House of Invercauld (The)
House of Invereruan (The)
Isla Side Lasses
James Lumsden
James Moir
John Begg
John Forbes
Kerr's Hornpipe
Kildrummie Lodge
Kildrummy Castle
Kirkney Water
Laddie wi' the Bonnet Blue (The)
Lads of Tarland (The)
Lady Augusta Gordon Lennox
Lady Forbes of Newe
Lady Radcliffe
Lasses of Fochabers
Lassie of the Glen (The)
Loch Avon
Loch Builg
Loch Muick
Lonach Country Dance (The)
Lonach Hall
Lonach Highlander's (The)
Lord Arthur's Cairn
Lord Dudley's March
Lord Fife's March
Lord George Gordon Lennox
Lord MacDuff
Lord Redhaven
Mar Castle Strathspey
March to the Rendezvous
Marchioness of Townshend (The)
Marr Lodge
Master John Gatherer
Mayen House
Merry Lads of New Pitsligo (The)
Methven Castle
Mill of Newe (The)
Mill of Tynett
Moncrieffe House
Mount Battock
Mourdun Hill
Mr. Alex Walker
Mr. Alex. Sheriff
Mr. Alexander Lawson
Mr. Alexander Munro
Mr. Alexander Troup
Mr. Alexander Wattie
Mr. Barclay
Mr. Charles Grant
Mr. Duncan McKerracher
Mr. Forbes Morrison
Mr. G. Ironside
Mr. George Morrison
Mr. Gordon Glennie
Mr. Hunter
Mr. J. S. Skinner
Mr. James Davidson
Mr. James McGrigor
Mr. James Munro
Mr. James Taylor
Mr. James Wattie
Mr. Jamieson
Mr. John Walker
Mr. Murdoch
Mr. Peter MacGrigor
Mr. William Donald's Favourite
Mrs. Barclay
Mrs. Forbes of Newe
Mrs. J. Forbes
Mrs. Leith of Glenkindy's
Mrs. Marr
Murthly Castle
Neil Gow's House
New Forest
Pass of Ballater (The)
Patrick Glennie's
Perthshire Lasses (The)
Peter MacLagan
Ploughman Laddie (The)
Polduilly Bridge
R.O. Farquharson of Haughton
Robert Russell of Pilmuir
Roe Hunt (The)
Royal Aberdeenshire Highlanders (The)
Royal Visit to Newe. . (The)
Scone Palace
Sir Alexander Cumming
Sir Charles Forbes of Newe
Sir George Abercrombie
Sir James M. of Edingight
Sir John Stuart Forbes
Sir Robert Gordon
Sporran Mullach (The)
Tap O' Noth
The House of Clova (The)
Towie Castle
Tweedside Lasses (The)
Union Street Bridge
Wallace Tower
We'll Aye Gang Back to yon Town
Willow Hornpipe (The)

15. Postscript

Picture added on 11 July 2016 at 16:16
This picture is in the following groups
Please add your comments about this picture using the form below.


Your Name

Your email address - this will be shown on the page and will allow the system to notify you of further comments added to this picture.


55 Glenbuchat Newspaper Cuttings53 Glenbuchat Newspaper Cutings52 Glenbuchat Newspaper cuttings34  Alexander Walker Autobiography 1898  Comment33  Alexander Walker Autobiography 1898  Pt 632  Alexander Walker Autobiography 1898 Pt 531  Alexander Walker Autobiography 1898 Pt 4 30 Alexander Walker Autobiography 1898 Pt 329 Alexander Walker Autobiography 1898 Pt 228 Alexander Walker Autobiography 1898 Pt 1